State of the Nanticoke: NantiCon 2022

Have you done research, restoration, or launched a new program in, on, or around the Nanticoke Watershed? We’d like to hear about it! To apply to present, click the “Apply to Present Here” button below to fill out the application. 

 

 

Last Conference’s Information:

 

 

~

Thank you to all our presenters who made our event a success!

We also appreciate all those who attended the first State of the Nanticoke Conference. 

~

If you weren’t able to make it to the event, you can view the presentations using the schedule below!

1. Click on the image below, it will open a PDF in a new window.

2. To view a presentation, click on the title or presenter’s name. 

3. You will be taken to a page where you can view the selected presentation.

4. Click the back button on your browser to view another presentation

5. The presenters’ contact info is provided below. 

~

Leave a Comment about the conference if you haven’t already!

 

Watch Videos from the Conference on YouTube:

~
~
STATE OF THE NANTICOKE PRESENTERS
Frist Last Name E-mail Organization Presentation
Beth Wasden Bethwasden@NanticokeRiver.org Nanticoke Watershed Alliance 10+ Year of Water Quality Data in the Nanticoke
Ed Lewandowski edlew@udel.edu University of Delaware/Sustainable Coastal Communities Initiative Reimagine Laurel:  Using Water Quality as a Driver for Community Redevelopment
Trisha Newcomer tnewcomer@seafordde.com City of Seaford Oyster House Park
Kelly Jacobs kjacobs@udel.edu University of Delaware Water Resources Center Economic Report of the Nanticoke Watershed
Larry Trout jeisenhardt@rkk.com RK&K MS4/TMDL Restoration Initiatives: Approaches For Nanticoke Watershed
Georgie Cartanza cartanza@udel.edu University of Delaware BMP’s and Environmental Stewardship in Poultry Production
Tyler Monteith Tyler.Monteith@delaware.gov DNREC Improving Soil Health One Grain at a Time: Innovative Survey Methods to Track Soil Conservation Practices
Timothy Rosen Trosen@shorerivers.org ShoreRivers Conservation Drainage – Achieving Agronomic and Environmental Goals
Erika Koontz ekoontz@umces.edu University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science Horn Point Laboratory Water Quality Trends and Agricultural Best Management Practices in the Choptank River Watershed
Dave Harp dharp@chesapeakephotos.com Chesapeake Photos River Stories
Tom Horton swanfall@gmail.com Salisbury University River Stories
Susanna Brellis susanna.brellis@kci.com KCI Technologies, Inc. Nanticoke River- Wicomico County Watershed Assessment
Matt Whitbeck matt_whitbeck@fws.gov Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge Using Thin Layer Sediment Placement to Build Marsh Resiliency on Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge
Joanna Ogburn joanna@jboconservation.com JBO Conservation, LLC Land Conservation in the Nanticoke: A Collaborative Affair
Jennifer Dindinger jdinding@umd.edu UMD Sea Grant Extension Sea Grant Extension’s Watershed Restoration & Protection Program in the Nanticoke Watershed
Stephanie Dalke spdalke@umd.edu UMD Environmental Finance Center Identifying Opportunities to Help Achieve Chesapeake Bay Pollution Reduction Goals
AshLeigh McKinney AshLeigh.McKinney@delaware.gov Delaware State Parks – Youth Conservation Corps Mission Resource: Youth Conservation Corps
Bex Lyons rebeccaalyons22@gmail.com Baltimore Chesapeake Bay Outward Bound School Outward Bound Sea Kayak Expeditions in the Nanticoke Watershed: A Week of Paddling, a Lifetime of Love for the Bay
Nan Zamorski nanzamorski@gmail.com Reclaim Our River ROR Nanticoke!
Mike Naylor mike.naylor@maryland.gov Maryland DNR SAV Restoration in the Nanticoke
Ian Park ian.park@delaware.gov DE DFW Atlantic Sturgeon in the Nanticoke River
NWA STAFF MEMBERS
Lisa Wool LisaWool@NanticokeRiver.org Executive Director
Beth Wasden BethWasden@NanticokeRiver.org Volunteer Coordinator
Evan Deckers EvanDeckers@NanticokeRiver.org Education Coordinator
~
~
Older Information:

Where: Perdue Hall, Room 156

@ Salisbury University

When: 9am-5pm (Check-in and Coffee open at 8:30)

How: Register Now to attend the event

~

If you would prefer to pay by check, please stop by the NWA office:

113 Old Ocean Gateway

Vienna, MD 21869.

~

We’re a busy bunch, so please be sure to call ahead to ensure that we will be in the office that day!

You can reach Evan at (410)443-8878.


~

Free parking will be available on campus on August 7, 2019, for those attending the State of the Nanticoke Conference.

Please be advised that you may NOT park in a reserved spot (i.e. the president’s parking spot), nor may you park in a handicapped spot without the proper placard.

~

To avoid being ticketed in the future, you must apply for a visitor’s parking pass for any other visits you may make to the SU campus. Visitor’s parking passes are available at the parking services office or online at https://webapps.salisbury.edu/parking/visitor/.

Requests for a visitor’s parking pass are free of charge but must be made at least 48 hours in advance.